Why I’ll Never Diet Again

I used to be on a diet all the time. When I was in the second grade, I measured my thighs with a tape measure and decided I needed to go on a diet. By the time I was 14, I was taking appetite suppressants. At 15, I tried very hard to make myself vomit, but I never could make it happen. At 17, I decided to eat no fat whatsoever and abstained until I had painful stomach cramps that threatened to land me in the emergency room. Yet, I remained large. I wore a misses size 12 when I was 11 years old. At 14, I weighed 176 pounds. At 21, I still weighed 176 pounds. I resigned myself to the idea that I would always be bigger than average. Maybe, I thought, that’s just the way I was made.

But in my mid-30s I had a ground-breaking thought: My body was designed to maintain a healthy weight without my having to worry about it. God (or The Universe or Nature or whatever you want to put there) made us to work, to reproduce, to move, to eat, to live, to sleep, to heal, etc. Staying at a healthy weight should not be like having a part-time job. It should be natural. If I eat naturally, I’ll weigh what I should naturally weigh.

I resolved to eat food made in kitchens, not in laboratories. No high fructose corn syrup, no long lists of unidentifiable ingredients, nothing manufactured to sit on a store shelf for 6 months. Real food.

Then, a year later, I read the book The China Study by T. Colin Campbell. He explained that our bodies don’t need as much protein-rich foods as we think and don’t need animal protein at all. He claimed that if we eat a plant-based, whole foods diet we would never have to worry about our weight ever again. So, I tried it for 6 months. In 6 months, I lost 10 pounds, ate heartily, enjoyed my food tremendously, and exercised when I was able. I was sold.

Vegan is the way to go. However, vegan is not easy. Our society is carnivorous. Milk products are particularly hard to avoid because I like half and half in my coffee and cheese on my salads. Furthermore, my family does not share my vegan enthusiasm. Although all of my loved ones have noticed my success, not all of them are willing to follow me. Even my 9-year-old son will admit that vegan is the best way to eat, but that doesn’t keep him from getting a burger every chance he gets.

This website is devoted to exploring how to make being vegan and being fit accessible to the lone, mainstream, health-conscious, budget-strapped reformed dieter. I’m going to glean all the information I can from the people who are really good at being vegan and being fit, condense it into a usable format, stir in a healthy dose of reality for those of us that have full-time jobs that don’t include shopping at 4 different grocery stores, and serve it to my internet friends. I will never diet again because being vegan makes being on a diet unnecessary.

I will never diet again because diets are depressing. They separate you from your friends and from special occasions and from pleasure. I will never diet again because they don’t work, or at least they don’t work for long. I’m sick of always watching the scale go up or down. I’m ready to get thin and stay thin. I’m never going to diet again because skinny people don’t diet and I want to live like I’m skinny. I’m never going to diet again because God didn’t create diets. He created avocados and macadamia nuts and potatoes and grapes (for wine!), and I don’t want to miss out on any of that stuff.

2 responses to this post.

  1. I don’t commonly comment but I gotta tell thank you for the post on this perfect one :D.

    Reply

So, what do you think?

