Easy. Vegan. Fitness

I should clarify why my website is entitled as it is and why I feel entitled to write about being a fit vegan when I am neither vegan nor fit.

Let’s start with vegan and the easy part will no doubt creep in where it wants to.  I am convinced that the vegan lifestyle is the way to go.  However, I do not want to have such a stringent diet that I have to forfeit anything I want for forever or inconvenience everyone I live and eat with to accommodate my choices.  Therefore, you will notice that I refer to myself as vegan-ish.  I try to make vegan choices as often as I can.

Two things come in to play here.  One is that I’m not a hard-core student of preparation and processing so I might not even know that something isn’t totally vegan.  For example, a true vegan avoids white sugar because some part of the whitening process is accomplished with an animal byproduct.  I don’t know all that stuff and don’t have the enthusiasm to find out.  I’m more concerned with cutting my animal protein down as much as possible.  Two is that I’m not going to eat crappy food for the rest of my life.  I don’t care if it’s vegan if it doesn’t taste good.  I’m not satisfied with a piece of fruit of breakfast and a handful of nuts and greens for lunch.  I don’t want the same foods over and over again.  I can’t eat a tossed salad with no cheese, no bacon bits, and light vinaigrette every day and be happy with that.  So, I have to balance my desire to be vegan with my desire to find pleasure in eating.  Sometimes I do that great (like the Winter Apple Salad and Riesling or Moroccan food), and sometimes I drift.  Real vegans will hate me, but the rest of you will understand.

The second part of the site is about fitness.  I haven’t written about that much yet, but I’m getting there.  I want to see muscles.  I want to turn heads.  I want to have firmness in good places and roundness in others.  I want to minimize jiggling wherever it occurs.  However, I only have about 30 minutes a day to exercise, and sometimes I don’t even have that.  So, I can’t do an hour of P90X before work or take a leisurely 5-mile jog in the evenings.  I need something that will burn calories and tone muscles quick.

Right now I’m doing 2-3 days of cardio and 1-2 days of Pilates.  I never work out for more than an hour including warming up, cooling down, and usually changing clothes.  I don’t work to exhaustion because I have too much to do to waste all my energy exercising.  I mean, who’s going to clean up the kitchen if I’m too weak to force one of my kids to do it?

I hope I don’t sound lazy.  I’m not.  I demonstrate a lot of discipline.  I’ve been keeping up with this routine for over a year.  My theory is that I may not see huge results right away, but after a while I’ll start looking like somebody who has worked out for years and years.  I’m happy to say, it’s working.  Today I bought the first pair of size 6 jeans I’ve ever bought.  Ever.  In my whole life.  The last time I wore a pair of pants that said size 6, they were 6x’s and I was 4 years old.

The down side to working out steadily is that boredom sets in.  I’m going to be trying new, easy exercises and letting you know how they work out for me.  Pilates is good and easy.  I’m going to do lots of that with different instructors to let you know what the variations are like.  Yoga seems pretty manageable so I’ll try that too when I have a chance.  Jogging isn’t fun, but it’s simple. Doing 30 minutes on an elliptical won’t kill me either if I don’t have to do it too often.

So that’s EasyVeganFitness in a nutshell.  I’m going to be doing all the research so that you can join me in my effort to buy more size 6 pants and maybe even wear them in public sometime. And remember, since I’m vegan-ish, I won’t be drinking any protein shakes or grilling 7 chicken breasts a week.  And since I’m looking for the easy ways, I won’t be keeping a food journal or counting calories either.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Real good visual appeal on this site, I’d rate it 10.

    Reply

So, what do you think?

