“Vegan-ish”–Vegan without trying too hard

Vegan-ish

I am (trying to be) vegan for two reasons.

  1.  I want to lose weight and keep it off for the rest of my life.  I don’t want to have 3 sizes of clothing in my closet.  I don’t want to look longingly at the dress I wore 4 New Year’s Eves ago and wish I could fit into it.  I don’t want to plan my vacations around my diets.  I just want to eat the healthiest food around and be thin.  From what I can tell from extensive research, trial and error, and old fashioned common sense, vegan is the way to go.
  2. The book The China Study convinced me that many of the health problems that we suffer in Western countries can be traced back to our eating habits.  I read the book thoroughly.  It fell in line with everything that my gut already knew to be true.

There are many reasons why other people become vegan, but those aren’t my reasons.  I love animals and respect the environment and want to live in harmony with the universe, but those aren’t my reasons for eating vegan.

Now with that said, a true vegan will hate me.  I am simply vegan-ish, which means I am as vegan as I can be without trying too hard.  Let me give you an example.  Tomorrow I’m going grocery shopping for the ingredients for some Christmas goodies.  I would like to make a batch of cookies, but I haven’t found and experimented with a good vegan recipe.  I have seen some that I will try in the future, but I don’t have time to experiment this week.  Therefore, I will be making a batch of cookies with eggs in them.  Not vegan.  I will also be making some other goodies that don’t have eggs, dairy or any of the usual suspects, but even those may not be vegan.  They may still have some ingredient that was processed in a way that utilized animal products.  I’m going to eat them anyway because I’m vegan-ish.

I don’t want to go on any diet that I can’t keep up for the rest of my life, and I can tell you right now, I’m not going the rest of my life without an oatmeal cookie fresh out of my oven.  If I can find a recipe that is vegan and delicious and easy to make, I’ll make it and I’ll blog about it.  If I can’t, I’ll keep my oatmeal cookie consumption limited to the bare necessity.

My message for you is this—You don’t have to be perfectly vegan to get some benefit from switching your diet to whole, plant-based foods.  You will feel better.  You will lose weight.  You will get off the roller coaster of weight loss and gain.  The more you eat real food the more you will like it.  You will experience satisfaction without guilt.  You will find true pleasure in food.  And, you don’t need to be obsessed to do it.

12 responses to this post.

  1. I?m impressed, I have to say. Really not often do I encounter a weblog that?s both educative and entertaining, and let me let you know, you’ve hit the nail on the head. Your concept is excellent; the difficulty is something that not sufficient individuals are talking intelligently about. I am very blissful that I stumbled throughout this in my search for something regarding this.

    Reply

  2. Excellent goods from you, man. “Vegan-ish”–Vegan without trying too hard easyveganfitness I have understand your stuff previous to and you are just extremely fantastic. I really like what you’ve acquired here, really like what you’re saying and the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still care for to keep it wise. I cant wait to read far more from you. This is actually a great “Vegan-ish”–Vegan without trying too hard easyveganfitness informations.

    Reply

  3. Fantastic goods from you, man. “Vegan-ish”–Vegan without trying too hard easyveganfitness I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you are just extremely great. I really like what you have acquired here, really like what you are saying and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still take care of to keep it wise. I can not wait to read far more from you. This is really a terrific “Vegan-ish”–Vegan without trying too hard easyveganfitness informations.

    Reply

  4. Whats up. Basically want to comment and say that I liked this information. I’ll be bookmarking your blog and browsing to find out if you post any additional ones. Thanks again!

    Reply

  5. very nice post, i certainly love this website, keep on it 48823

    Reply

  6. […] let me introduce you to a vegetable I had never had until we went vegan-ish last year:  Rutabagas.  Don’t stop reading—rutabagas are cheap, delicious, relatively easy to […]

    Reply

  7. […] made with beef or pork.  I resist the siren song of frying bacon.  So you wanna know why I think being vegan-ish is worth it? Here’s […]

    Reply

So, what do you think?

