Use Visual Imagery to Help you Lose Weight and Keep it Off

We were watching The Biggest Loser the other night when we noticed how many of the contestants talk about feeling like a different person or being one kind of person trapped inside a fat body, etc.  Some may dismiss that talk as drama, but, as a person that has struggled with her weight her whole life, I understand what they mean.

When  you have a mental picture of yourself as a fat person, being fat is normal for you.  We tend to do what is normal.  It’s like the default settings on a computer.  We go back to what we know.  To achieve long-term weight loss, you have to change your normal.

For some, I guess it’s possible to just behave differently and feel different.  I’m not that way.  I have to think about stuff.  I had to be very still and close my eyes and try to imagine myself thin and happy with my body and in control of my desire for food.

Conjuring those images were very hard for me.  I could not simply think of myself in any other terms than fat, dieting, hungry and guilty.  I didn’t even realize the hang ups I had about my appearance until I made myself try to see myself thin.  I had been harboring a doubt all along that I would even look good thin.  I had been thinking, without knowing it, “What if I do all this work and lose weight and still don’t look good?”  I was worried that being thin would make me less fun to be around.  I wasn’t sure that once I lost weight I could ever keep it off, so why bother? I didn’t know how to have fun that wasn’t food-related.   With those thoughts in mind, I could have dieted all day long for years, but I would have never been thin.

Now, I’m not saying that changing your mind is all you have to do (vegan-ish and fitness, remember).  But, no matter what else you do, if you don’t change your mindset, your weight loss will be temporary.  I’m not perfect and I still have work to do, but I have changed my normal.  I’m not a fat girl trying to regain my self-worth.  I am a healthy person trying to get healthier.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Excellent post. I hadn\\\’t thought of this. Thanks for the tips!

    Reply

  2. Very good info can be found on blog.

    Reply

So, what do you think?

