Acupuncture for Health and Healing

As much as I’d like to lose weight and fit into my size six jeans without endangering my internal organs, I can’t just focus on weight loss.  If my only goal were weight loss, I’d be at the drug store buying appetite suppressants and sucking down hormones from a dropper right now.  Then 6 months from now, I’ll be looking longingly at the swimsuit I fit in for an hour and a half before I officially went off my diet and gained back every pound plus some.  I really don’t want to do that (again).

The right way for me to achieve and maintain a healthy weight is for me to take a whole body approach and let my body regulate itself.  I realize that may mean that I’m never a size 6.  I’m okay with that as long as I’m never a size 16 (again) either.

My weight isn’t the only place I think a whole body approach is the right way to go.  Some of you may have read an earlier post where I talked about my gallbladdertroubles.  Instead of surgery, I opted to try acupuncture.  My thinking at the time was that my body is not a machine.  It is more than the sum of its parts.  Energy and emotion cohabit with the blood and guts.  I can’t tinker with one without it affecting the others.  I read up on acupuncture a little and alternative medicine a lot, and came to the conclusion that Western medicine’s one-size-fits-all way of dealing with gallbladder issues wasn’t for me.  I had great results with my acupuncture treatments.

They really don't hurt. I usually don't even feel most of them go in. photo from sozocd.com

Now my significant other has begun acupuncture as well.  He doesn’t have any urgent medical issues, but he has a bum knee that doctors recommended replacing and some residual health problems from being middle aged and perpetually stressed.  Yesterday was his first treatment and he has felt immediate changes in his energy and stress level.  We’ll see if Eastern medicine can help his body heal his knee when Western medicine said it couldn’t be done, and I’ll keep you posted.

As you can see, he has a sizable knee to replace. He's got a hole in his cartilage. We're going to see what his body can do with the right treatment.

His insurance isn’t covering the treatments, which isn’t great, but he’ll have to get an awful lot of treatment before he reaches his several thousand dollar copay anyhow.  No matter what, he had to admit that something was going on when the practitioner stuck a needle in his foot and his head started tingling.

Chinese meds--$119 worth. Less than a normal prescription and nowhere near the side effects.

I say all that to say this:  there are many ways to achieve what I (and maybe you too) want to achieve with our bodies.  We don’t have to listen to the so-called experts that say we have to drink milk or our bones will get brittle.  We don’t have to eat our body weight in lean meat every year.  We don’t have to pump our kids full of string cheese and chicken nuggets to satisfy them.  We need to listen to our bodies.  My body is happiest when I’m at my vegan-est.  Yours might be different.  Listen to it, and make the best decisions for you.

So, what do you think?

