Help! Bitchiness will make me Fat!

It has occurred to me that for all the good work I’ve done reprogramming my brain to think about what constitutes a meal and what fueling my body really means, I still have to work on breaking bad habits.  Since I’ve been in a total funk for the last few days, (I don’t know why—hormones? the weather? seasonal affective disorder? chronic bitchiness? Probably) I’ve been face-to-face with my tendency to link food and mood.

This bathroom remodel put 5 pounds on me.

When I get really happy, I want to celebrate with fancy food.  When I get really down, I want to console myself with decadent food.  When I want to create a homey atmosphere, I begin with home cooking.  When I want to unwind, I start by planning my special food indulgence.  It’s too much.  I’ve been pretty successful at eliminating food for entertainment, but I haven’t unhooked it from my emotions yet.  And, as a woman with raging hormones and children and a man, I’ve got too many emotions to eat all of them.

But, what can I do?  I don’t have the money to substitute shopping or decorating.  I don’t have the space or time to go for long walks or take bubble baths.

Bubblebaths just don't relax me. The last thing I want to do when I'm depressed is sit around looking at my naked stomach.

With four or more kids in my house at any given time (kids, stepkids and neighbors), I don’t have much privacy or quiet to do much of anything.  Eating is convenient.  If I’m going to lasso this bad habit, I’m going to have to find something that is as accessible, affordable, and effective as chocolate-covered peanuts.

My weak spot is the combination of crunchy and sweet. I forget that binging doesn't really solve any of my problems.

That’s not going to be easy.  And, to tell you the truth, I don’t know what that is.  I’m going to give it some serious thought though and get back to you when I come up with something.

Do you have any suggestions?

6 responses to this post.

  1. Food becomes linked to emotion at birth. Whether bottle or breast feeding, food meant warmth, comfort, companionship and calm. I have tried to break this link, but I cannot either. I have found that I am able to makes some adjustments though.

    Bad day – dark chocolate (its better for my heart)
    Tired – Nuts (my favorite are peanuts), trail mix
    Munchy – dried fruit (currently my favorite is dried mango), whole grain crackers, fruit, veggies
    Hungry but nothing tastes good – peanut butter and crackers, glass of milk

    It is amazing what we eat and how much everytime we walk through the kitchen. I have found that if I leave the above on the kitchen counter laziness wins. It’s there, it’s visable and easily accessed. I will eat that instead of taking the time and energy to find something else. Even my children snack better that way.

    Reply

  2. Im experiencing fat days myself. I hate it. Thanks to this post i will control my junkfood eating when im bored… Ill just blog surf more instead of grabing a pot of icecream

    Reply

  3. If I’m hardcore craving sweets and nothing else will do, I go for dark chocolate covered strawberries or frozen bananas. If you want crunchy and sweet, go for the banana and throw a few nuts on the outside of the chocolate.

    Normally when I do bananas I make a few at a time and cut them up in 1-inch chunks, cover ’em with chocolate/nuts. Keep them in a big freezer bag and it’s an awesome go-to snack. They’re really rich too, so you feel like you’re getting a big bang for your buck. 🙂

    Reply

    • Oooh. Good banana idea. I think you’ve hit on something else too. I need to go ahead and accept the fact that I’m going to get a craving and plan ahead. I have a bad habit of assuming that I’ll never relapse ever again. I should go ahead and make these bananas for dessert this weekend.

      Reply

  4. I feel your pain! Comfort eating is a problem for everyone, myself included. But instead of trying to find replacements for all my favorite treats, I try to eat satisfying meals that don’t leave any room for hunger and then find different ways to reward/comfort myself. Check out a movie you’ve been dying to see. Curl up with a big cup of tea and your favorite book. Shut out the world and do something nice that is naturally calorie-free. Good luck on your road to wellness!

    Reply

    • I think you’re right, Paige. Ultimately, we have to quit using food to fill emotional voids. Good food, bad food, it doesn’t matter. It’s not what food is for. As long as we use it to fill in for what we really need, we’ll never deal with our real problems. I think this is just an example of one of the many reasons why we should focus on our health (physical, emotional and mental) rather than our weight.

      Reply

So, what do you think?

